Explore the History of australian football


VFA competition resumes. North Melbourne win third consecutive VFA premiership (allowing for break for war). VFL competition consists of 8 clubs.  Midland Junction leave WAFL. NTFL runs during Darwin wet season, October-March. Grand final results - VFL: South Melbourne 9.8 (62) d. Collingwood7.15 (57); WAFL: East Fremantle 11.8 (74) d. East Perth 8.5 (53); VFA: North Melbourne 18.13 (121) d. Prahran 3.10 (18). Other premiers - NSWAFL: East Sydney; NTFL: Wanderers.

Between 1916 and 1918 official league competition in the SAFL was suspended. Instead, a patriotic league was organised. Several SAFL clubs fielded teams in this competition, with Port Adelaide (1916-17) and West Torrens (1918) winning the three premierships. By 1918 the standard of football on display was as good as if not better than during pre-war days. The finals series attracted sizeable attendances and whetted people’s appetites for the resumption of full scale league football in 1919.

Nevertheless, some aspects of the running of the patriotic league can perhaps best be described as haphazard. For example the first semif final between South Adelaide and Port Adelaide, scheduled to take place at Hindmarsh Oval on Saturday 21st September, descended into farce when the latter side “forgot” to turn up! Uncertain at first of what to do the umpire eventually decided to bounce the ball with just the South players on the ground. South then proceeded to kick a goal whereupon they were declared the winners. A scratch match then took place for the benefit of the large crowd which had assembled.

On the following Monday the league overruled the match umpire's decision to award the match to South and ordered that the semi final be played on the following Saturday with the West Torrens-West Adelaide semi final, which had originally been scheduled for that date, being put back a week.

​1918 Snippets