Explore the History of australian football

Third interstate championships contested in Sydney; won by VFL. Port Adelaide win all 14 matches played for season to secure SAFL premiership and club championship of Australia.  Midland Junction readmitted to WAFL. WA State Premiership suspended. Grand final results - CoA: Port Adelaide 9.16 (70) d. Carlton 5.6 (36); VFL: Carlton 6.9 (45) d. South Melbourne 4.15 (39); SAFL: Port Adelaide 13.15 (93) d. North Adelaide 1.8 (14); WAFL: East Fremantle 5.13 (43) d. South Fremantle 3.6 (24); VFA: North Melbourne 12.14 (86) d. Footscray 7.9 (51); TFL: North Hobart 7.11 (53) d. Cananore 4.11 (35); NSWAFL: South Sydney 7.7 (49) d. Sydney 4.15 (39); QFL: South Brisbane 6.17 (53) d. Valley 4.8 (32); NWFU: Devonport 9.9 (63) d. Latrobe 5.1 (31); TSP: North Hobart 8.18 (66) d. City 4.9 (33).  Other premiers - NTFA: City (on points).


One of the most controversial endings to a VFL premiership decider occurred in 1914. SOUTH MELBOURNE and minor CARLTON opposed one another in the challenge final a week after South had overcome the Blues by 19 points in the final. In the first half of the re-match Carlton played strongly in the first half to forge out a 5.8 (38) to 2.5 (17) lead. Thereafter it was all South, but the forwards let the side down by kicking atrociously for goal. During the second half the red and whites booted 2.10 to 1.1, leaving the final score at Carlton 6.9 (45); South Melbourne 4.15 (39). However, every South supporter in the ground will swear blind that their team was robbed of a replay. With seconds remaining a probing kick by South Melbourne's Caldwell looked set to be marked by his team mate Bollard in the goal square, only for Carlton's Jamieson to leap into Bollard's back allowing a team mate to rush in and clear the danger. Amazingly, umpire Harry Rawle failed to spot the infringement and the bell sounded shortly afterwards with Carlton controversial victors by a single straight kick.

1914 Snippets