Explore the History of australian football

Cananore (TFL) are awarded the Tasmanian State Premiership on forfeit after opponents Launceston (NTFA) object to the choice of umpire.  Melbourne City, which had lost all 36 matches contested over two seasons, replaced in VFA by Hawthorn. Grand final results - CoA: Port Adelaide 13.16 (94) d. Fitzroy 4.7 (31); VFL: Fitzroy 7.14 (56) d. St Kilda 5.13 (43) [See GREAT GAMES section]; SAFL: Port Adelaide 7.12 (54) d. North Adelaide 5.10 (40); WAFL: Subiaco 6.7 (43) d. Perth 4.7 (31); VFA: Footscray 10.14 (74) d. North Melbourne 11.7 (73); TFL: Cananore10.13 (73) d. Lefroy 4.12 (36); NSWAFL: Sydney 9.16 (70) d. Paddington 6.6 (42); QFL: Valley 14.16 (100) d. Royal Australian Artillery 10.7 (67); WA State Premiership: Subiaco 15.11 (101) d. Boulder City 8.6 (54). Other premiers - NTFA: Launceston (on points); NWFU: Latrobe (on points).


After 11 minor round matches in 1913 ST KILDA stood in sixth place on the VFL ladder with 5 wins, giving them a total of 20 points, which was 10 points adrift of fourth placed Carlton. Participation in the finals looked to be out of the question, and so an end of season trip to Sydney was arranged. The Saints players were obviously not keen on the idea because they proceeded to win 6 of their last 7 home and away matches to sneak into the finals 4 points ahead of Geelong and 6 clear of Carlton. Perhaps the most significant match in this winning sequence came in round fifteen against Carlton at St Kilda's home ground, the Junction Oval. Trailing by 5 points with just seconds remaining the Saints mounted one last desperate attack which culminated in Edward Collins finding Billy Schmidt some 50 yards from goal. Schmidt unleashed a copybook drop kick to bisect the uprights and secure victory for his side by the smallest margin.


The TASMANIAN STATE PREMIERSHIP MATCH between TFL premier Cananore and NTFA premier Launceston was sensationally cancelled after the northern club objected to the engagement of a TFL umpire - Mr Dwyer - to control the match.  Launceston ended up being disqualified by the TFL, which had that right as the official, Australasian Football Council-recognised Controlling Body for all Tasmanian football.  The ban was ultimately lifted before the start of the 1914 season. Meanwhile, Cananore was awarded the state title on forfeit, making it four times in five seasons that the side had won the 'double' of state and local premierships. Cananore's coach on every occasion was Bruce Carter (pictured left), the man who had masterminded Tasmania's B Section triumph at the 1908 Melbourne Centenary Carnival.

1913 Snippets