Explore the History of australian football


The club championship of Australia (CoA) series resumes after a 14 year break with Norwood 13.12 (90) defeating Carlton 8.10 (58) at the Adelaide Oval. Name of SAFA changed to South Australian Football League (SAFL). Perth win WAFA premiership on protest: scoreboard after grand final shows East Fremantle 6.11 (47); Perth 6.6 (42), but Perth's claim that one of East's goals should have been disallowed is upheld by Appeals Board.  The VFA introduces mandatory numbering of players. Grand final results - VFL: Carlton 6.14 (50) d. South Melbourne 6.9 (45); SAFL: Norwood 8.7 (55) d. Port Adelaide 3.9 (27); VFA: Williamstown 7.10 (52) d. West Melbourne 3.16 (34); NSWAFL: Sydney 1.6 (12) d. Newtown 1.4 (10); QFL: Locomotives 13.11 (89) d. Wynnum 6.13 (49). Other premiers - TFL: Lefroy (on points); NTFA: City (on points); WA State Premiership: Not contested.

1907 Snippets

The Blues' best on the day, Fred Elliott

Skipper of the Redlegs, Alby Bahr

Carlton captain Jim Flynn

Norwood's Charles Gwynne, the umpire's choice as best afield

Post-Season Clash of Premiers: Norwood (SAFL) versus Carlton VFL at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday 28th September 1907

At the conclusion of the 1907 football season VFL premiers Carlton visited Adelaide to play their SAFL counterparts Norwood. The match took place on Saturday 28th September on the Adelaide Oval, and was won with surprising comfort by the Redlegs, 13.12 (90) to 8.10 (58). On the following Monday Melbourne newspaper "The Argus" reported on the match, which it considered to have been "practically" for the championship of Australia. This qualifier is missing from South Australian accounts of the match which universally and unequivocally lauded Norwood as the Australia's champion team. In hindsight, it is the Victorian evaluation of the match which appears more reasonable, however, because a genuine Australian championship at the time in question must realistically have also involved the premier team of Western Australia. The same could justifiably be said of all subsequent so called "championship of Australia" matches prior to the championship series of 1972, in which the premiership-winning teams of both Western Australia and Tasmania participated for the first time.

These caveats notwithstanding, the 1907 clash of the top South Australian and Victorian clubs provided the 13,000 spectators at the Adelaide Oval with a memorable spectacle. In the first half, the match was closely contested, with Norwood enjoying a 3 point advantage at the long break. The third quarter, however, saw the Reflags dominant in all facets of the game, and rattling on 7 unanswered goals to sow the seeds of their eventual comfortable win.

The match was umpired by Lawrence "Lardy" Tulloch, an ex-Collingwood player who had umpired that year's VFL grand final.1] After the Norwood-Carlton contest he proclaimed that, in his opinion, the best player afield was Norwood follower Charles Gwynne. Carlton skipper Jim Flynn conceded that his team had been outpaced by the Redlegs, and that although the Blues missed their star wingman George Bruce (a South Australian), his replacement in the team, Fred "Pompey" Elliott, was probably Carlton's best player on the day.


[1]  Tulloch had actually skippered the Magpies to the 1902 and 1903 premierships, and is the only VFL premiership captain to umpire a VFL premiership-deciding match.