Explore the History of australian football


Western Australian State Premiership contested for the first time, with Goldfields premiers Kalgoorlie Railways defeating WAFA premiers East Fremantle, 7.6 (48) to 5.11 (41).  VFL fixture between Fitzroy and Collingwood played in Sydney in effort to promote code and give newly formed New South Wales Australian Football League (NSWAFL) a boost.  Formation of Queensland Football League (QFL) but no premiership contested.  Preston admitted to the VFA.  Finals system introduced by VFA. Grand final results - VFL: Collingwood 4.7 (31) d. Fitzroy 3.11 (29); SAFA: Port Adelaide 6.6 (42) d. South Adelaide 5.5 (35); VFA: North Melbourne 7.6 (48) d. Richmond 3.9 (27); NSWAFL: East Sydney 6.8 (44) d. North Shore 4.2 (26). Other premiers - WAFA: East Fremantle (on points); STFA: Wellington (on points); NTFA: City (on points).

At three quarter time of a VFA match between Preston and PORT MELBOURNE it was discovered that the latter had been playing with an extra man. The score at the time was 3.12 (30) to 0.6 (6) in Preston's favour but Port's indiscretion meant that their entire score was annulled. Needless to say Port ended up losing the match, but they must have derived some stimulus fron their misfortune as the final term saw them outscore their opponents 4.1 to 2.2.

1903 Snippets.